Cottage Reviews

Cosy cottage in an area of outstanding beauty

 

August 2018

Great stay! The house has everything a family needs for a good stay on the island. The house is very comfortable and clean. Rob is so thoughtful and makes sure you have all essentials. Our children loved to play in the wonderful garden. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking in this area. Thank you for your hospitality - we would definitely stay again!

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nice Cottage in rural landscape and very friendly hosts
 
August 2018 from Germany
We had a two weeks stay in this Cottage with two adults and two children. The floor space was absolute sufficient for us. All rooms were very clean and tidy. The Arrangement of rooms was perfect for our stay. The Equipment was useful, especially the kitchen enabled us to cook from time to time. The terrace was ready for BBQ. The location of the Cottage is very silent, there is only a small road with small traffic. Rob and Kath gave us a warm welcome and during our stay they looked for us if they could give us any assistance. We enjoyed our stay and recommend this accommodation to people who like it silent and rural. For a visit in this area we clearly would book this Cottage again.
 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great property, probably one of the best we have visited

 

 Left on Jan 31, 2017 for a stay in Jan 2017

Wonderful spacious cottage, warm and well laid out. Large and comfortable beds and two toilets one with shower one with a bath. Nice decking area with great views to sit on in a summers evening. Lots of parking. and friendly owner. Lots of brochures books and crockery. The owners are happy with pets and there are several nice walks in the local area. The location is very good for visiting all the coastal villages and beaches. Very quiet. We loved it and this was in January!!

 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great cottage and stunning scenery

 

 Left on Aug 27, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016

We stayed at Golden Square in late August. The cottage is superbly decorated, furnished and equipped meaning that you don't need to worry about anything whilst you are there. The homemade treats left for us was a really nice touch and the cottage was really clean and welcoming. The local area is great for dog walks - a car is a must to get into the towns but the neighbouring villages and towns are amazing and a short car journey away. All in all, we had a great time and would definitely rebook for next year!

 

 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home away from home - restful, peaceful location

 

 Left on Jul 23, 2016 for a stay in Jul 2016

We (2 couples) stayed at the cottage for 4 nights and it was excellent. You need to have a car, given its location, but it is an easy drive to many coastal towns (Lyme Regis, Beer, Sidmouth etc). The cottage is very well equipped, clean and the shower (downstairs) / bath (upstairs) worked well for our needs. There is a collection of books, games and DVDS. The outdoor seating is great also. We appreciated the responsiveness when making the booking.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Comfortable cottage, lovely views

 

 Left on Nov 30, 2015 for a stay in Nov 2015

Comfortable, warm well equipped cottage. We spent a long weekend visit in the lovely cottage with it's beautiful views. Immaculately clean, this cottage has everything we needed to make our stay perfect. The weather was wet and windy but the cottage was lovely and warm, with fuel for the log burner. A big thank you to Rob for his friendly welcome.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

"The best self catering accommodation we have stayed"

The cottage was extremely comfortable, very well equipped and spotlessly clean and, as a bonus, had stunning views across the countryside. A visit to Royal Oak Farm shop is recommended (just a short walk away) where you can find good local produce and delicious homemade ready meals. The cottage is ideally placed for trips to the coast as well as the Devon countryside. Kath and Rob are very friendly and most welcoming and made our stay a very relaxed holiday. We will definitely be back next year and have already asked to make a provisional booking! Thank you Kath and Rob and we look forward to seeing you both in 2015.
Oct 2014
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

"Perfect place"

We stayed here the week before Easter had glorious weather. Cottage is beautiful, comfy full of mod cons with a hooooooge bed! In a lovely setting ideally placed for exploring all counties think we touched on Dorset Devon and Somerset in one day! We were made to feel very welcome by kath and family enjoyed watching the barn building hope the swallows are making most of it! All in all smashing place to stay came home worn out though especially our little dog but it was worth it! Would highly recommend and hope to stay again. 2014

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
 
"Very comfortable cottage in lovely location"


We chose Golden Square Cottage because we wanted somewhere that would be comfortable at a time of year when the weather might have kept us in. Happily the weather was wonderful, but we were always glad at the end of the day to return to a cottage where we could relax as comfortably as at home. 
The rooms are spacious and well furnished, the kitchen is of a very high standard and with two bathrooms (one with a bath, the other with a shower) we had the luxury of a bathroom each. The owners, Rob and Kath were welcoming and helpful. 
The cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside and is within easy reach of the south coast, where we particularly liked Lyme Regis, Beer and Branscombe. The local farm shop is useful for fresh fruit and vegetables and home-cooked frozen meals and we had a very good light lunch there (they also do cream teas). We also ate very well when we had dinner at Hugh Fearnly-Whittingstall's River Cottage Canteen in Axminster – great food and service and reasonable prices. (You need to book).
Sept 2013

Response:
We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Square, and had such lovely weather to boot. Thank you for your generous review.

We loved your idea of putting a couple of sun loungers out on the deck - we plan to get those in ready for next spring. And we're really pleased you enjoyed Royal Oak farm shop up the road - it's great to have them on the doorstep.

We hope you will visit again soon.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

"Effusive but deserved review"

 

 

Just back from a <relatively> grown up friends holiday and would be happy to bet that Golden Square Cottage is one of the most beautifully appointed holiday cottages ever conceived. We'll all miss Belina the friendly strokable chicken, vince the cat of negotiable affections, the insatiable garden piglets, the breath taking country walks, the crazy cheap but awesome farm shop and our friendly yet unobtrusive hosts. 

I'd highly recommend golden square cottage for all persons who like comfort, fossils, animals, walking, beaches, and gorgeous scenery. Thanks to Kath and Rob for having us, such a gem of a place!
May 2013

Response:
Thanks for the lovely review. It was great to have you, and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. It's so great to hear when people have enjoyed their Golden Square experience - makes all the hard work worthwhile. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I would highly recommend this beautiful cottage"

We had a fabulous time at this cottage, the owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We stayed with our 2 and 4 year old boys and our bouncy lab and my mum and dad joined us for a few days. It is a really clever conversion to allow maximum use of space. Go there!
April 2013

Response:
Thanks so much for your review, and we're really glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you all again soon. 
All the best.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Beautiful, welcoming rural retreat, great for young children"


We booked last minute for a four day stay before term started again. 
The property was beautifully presented, had everything we needed and we were really pleased with our break.

Our children, 5 & 3, had the time of their lives, being allowed to explore the land, feed the chickens, stroke the cats and best of all feed the pigs.
Katherine & Rob were great owners, with good local knowledge but above all letting us have the freedom to walk around their property.

The house itself was clean, comfortable and furnished tastefully. The location was ideal for us, we spent most of our time at Beer. There was also a fabulous bridge just beyond the village that we found thanks to a map of walks in the house, that was our best day, just mucking around in the water and enjoying the scenery.

Overall, a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We will try to book again for summer 2013.

Response:
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means a lot as we're just getting started, and lovely words like this are the best possible advert we could have. 

We're so happy that the kids had a great time exploring the farm. We hope to keep building the menagerie over time as we get the smallholding more established - umming and aahing about rheas, guinea fowl and goats... will have to see what Father Christmas brings us! 

We really hope to see you again next year, and we're very happy to offer a repeat booking discount of 5% per week.

Kath and Rob


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Lovely  cosy accommodation in a superb location"
 
Golden Square Cottage is absolutely delightful. Warm, cosy and very well equiped with everything guests could need for a comfortable stay in this beautiful part of Devon. Views from the cottage are superb and there are excellent walks from the front door There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and a nice local pub within walking distance.
On our arrival we were met by the helpful owner with a delicious home made cake fresh from the oven, jt perfect to enjoy with a cup of tea in front of the wood burner.

Response:
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means a lot as we're just getting started, so it's great to hear that we're getting it right!

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and all the great attractions on our doorstep, and am glad that the slightly rustic looking cake found a good home.

Wishing you a Happy Christmas and Peaceful 2013,

Kath and Rob

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------